Sujoya’s 30-day (interrupted) challenge

Sujoya, a student at Bikram Yoga Manhattan for the past several years, is chronicling her attempt at a 30-day challenge, which continues — unfortunately not uninterrupted — with more challenges that Sujoya tackles with great humor.

Sure, this is a walk in the park if you're flat-chested


Day 17 (15 or 6)

I am counting today as THE official HALF WAY POINT! If I can get through today, I can definitely finish this thing…

OK, I got through. But my left leg is a problem. I have both sciatica and plantar fasciitis in the heel and it’s always been weak and wobbly as a result. Today, it’s ultra weak and wobbly. Shouldn’t it be stronger by now? It’s not.

Also, I hereby declare that Bikram clearly doesn’t believe in gravity and that Standing Separate Leg- Head-to-Knee should be re-dubbed “Standing Separate Leg Head-to-Knee-Auto-Suffocation-Between-Breasts.” I’m not sure how he came up with this pose, but clearly, he didn’t have female anatomy in mind. It generally goes something like this: “You go down.” And then you’re supposed to land your forehead on your “exactly” knee. But if you have double Ds, gravity ensures that you land your forehead on a boob. It’s just not going to be any other way. So in my case, I have to “lift and separate” (using my hands) so that the forehead can meet the knee without interference from the gravity-prone breasts. Except, Houston, we have a problem: now, my nose is basically being suffocated between my boobs and even worse, sweat is running down the channel in my chest directly into the upside-down nostrils. I am basically gagging myself between my boobs while drowning in my own sweat. And then, AND THEN… the hands are supposed to go in prayer? I don’t think so. It’s a miracle I make it up alive. Maybe afterward, they should go in a prayer of thanks. That probably explains why you end up in prayer position at tree pose. That’s today’s story. Oh, and another thing: I didn’t look at the clock even once during class! HUMP DAY IS DONE.

Day 18 (16 or 7 )

I never thought I’d say this, but today, it wasn’t hot enough in the Village studio. Nope. Just wasn’t. Amazing, huh? AND how intimidating: after I had set down my mat in the first row, an instructor laid down her mat in the row behind me. The pressure! Still, it was an OK class. I’m getting a tiny bit better at certain things. Still not so great at others.

Day 19 (17 or 8 ) – OFF

DAMMIT! A project at work has gone long and I can’t make it to a 6 pm class. I’ll have to make a 7:30 at Chelsea, which I’ve never done. If I take the class so late, I just don’t sleep. Also, what to do about eating – do I eat before? When? I am super grumpy about this…. DOUBLE DAMMIT. It’s now 7:45 and I’m still on my project. It has to get out tonight and at this point I can’t tell how long it will run. There’s no way I can make it to either an 8 or an 8:15 at this point. Now I’m REALLY grumpy. I just can’t get out. I have missed another day. Really unhappy.

Day 20 (17 or 8 )

Back in class today. I am kicking myself for missing 3 days out of the 30 planned. This is not turning out how I would prefer. But you know what? Stuff happens. I have to look at the bright side, which is that I’m back in the saddle, and as usual, the rest was welcome. I’m kinda perky!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

